Scott's Spot

The Kickoff for the Men of Distinction Luncheon was Distinctive Indeed!

The Kickoff for the Men of Distinction Luncheon was Distinctive Indeed!

For 16 years, a small select committee of men has made a difference for physicians researching pediatric issues within Texas Medical Center hospitals. During this time, Men of Distinction has raised over $5.5 million to fund these ongoing efforts by successfully producing a luncheon to honor worthy Houston gentlemen.

Renowned eatery Steak 48 was the designated spot to kick off this annual event, hosted by Prime Steak Concepts founder Jeff Mastro and Chief Brand Officer Oliver Badgio. Over 150 eager guests joined them to celebrate the announcement of the honorees and the three beneficiaries. Dr. John Cangelosi, CEO and Founder of Sagis, PLLC, will be the chairperson for this auspicious gathering on May 3rd at River Oaks Country Club.

Announced and presented as honorees were philanthropist John ArnoldJim Crane, CEO of Crane Worldwide and owner of Houston Astros; Bill McKeon, Texas Medical Center CEO; Dr. Jim Muntz, medical team physician for the Houston Rockets, Houston Astros and Houston Texans; and longtime Houston media personality Dave Ward.

Medical beneficiaries receiving $100,000 unrestricted grants are Drs. Morris, Doan, Belfort and Ketwaroo with Texas Children’s Hospital and Baylor College of Medicine; Drs. Nichols, Sabek and Gaber with Houston Methodist; and Dr. Francisco with Memorial Hermann, TIRR, UTHealth and UH Engineering.

Past Honorees lending support included Jim CrownoverJesse TutorKeith MosingGary PetersenNed HolmesDavid Weekly and Richard Mithoff. Past Luncheon Chairs present included Tracy DieterichMichael Mithoff and Dr. Devinder Bhatia.

Members of the Men of Distinction Steering Committee are David WuthrichJonathan AyreOliver BadgioDr. Devinder BhatiaTony BradfieldDr. John CangelosiTracy DieterichScott EvansTony GracelyDanny KlaesStephen Lewis“Butch” MachSteve MachWilliam McCartneyEd McMahonMichael Mithoff, Ross Robin, Scott Schwinger and Jesse Tutor.

Tickets and tables are still available for this festive function. For more information and to purchase tickets, please visit Men of Distinction Tables and Tickets or contact David Wuthrich at 713.204.0216 or email

Socially present (not previously mentioned):  Bob Moses, Rob Dale, Janet Gurwitch and Ron Franklin, John Eddie and Sheridan Williams, Hallie Vanderhider, Fady Armanious, Tony Bradfield, Honorable Joanne King Herring, Charles Tate, Oliver Badgio, Jeff Mastro, Betty Tutor, Lilly and Thurmon Andress, Molly Crownover, Alice Mosing, Joan Schnitzer, Shelby Hodge and Shafik Rifaat, Ralph Burch, Mark Sullivan, Melissa Sandifer, Beth Wolff, Gina Bhatia, Ann Ayre, Kirk Kveton, Daniel Irion, Cheryl Byington, Andy Cordes, Virginia Carl, Terry Wayne Jones and Cynthia Wolff

Restaurant Poll Img

Stay Connected

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This