Scott's Spot

Men of Distinction Luncheon Celebrates Fifteen Years and Over Five Million Dollars

Men of Distinction Luncheon Celebrates Fifteen Years and Over Five Million Dollars

In the late fall of 2006, several Houston men, comprising Scott Evans, Steve Mach, Ed McMahon and David Wuthrich saw a need and combined forces to create an event that would recognize and honor Houston men who have distinguished themselves through excellence in community achievement, thereby providing support in superior biomedical research, education, and patient care in the Texas Medical Center and directly benefiting the Houston community. Thusly, Men of Distinction was born.

Proceeds from Men of Distinction would stay in Houston and provide support for a clinician/research scientist partnership. In this way, community attention and philanthropic support are focused on the importance of improving healthcare through medical research. To date, more than $5 million has been raised.

In May, 2007, Houston stalwarts Tony Gracely and Harry Mach, Jr. became chairpersons for the inaugural luncheon, which was held to a packed crowd at River Oaks Country Club. Honored were D. Kent Anderson, Dan Duncan, John P. McGovern, M.D. and Lester Smith.

Past chairmen for this luncheon have included:  Philip Bahr, Dr. Devinder Bhatia, Ric Campo, Joe Cleary, John Eads, Don D. Jordan (who just purchased the Grand Champion Steer at Rodeo Houston 2022 for $1 million), Jack Kendall, Michael Mithoff, Scott Schwinger, David Solomon, Paul Somerville, Bobby Tudor and Jesse Tutor.

Past honorees have included:  President George H.W. Bush, Honorable James A. Baker, Dr. Michael DeBakey, Dr. Denton Cooley, Dr. John Mendelsohn, Dr. Ralph Feigin, Virgil Waggoner, Holcombe Crosswell, Dr. “Red” Duke, George Mitchell, James Crownover, Bob McNair, Charlie Thomas, Ernie Cockrell, Dr. “Bud” Frazier, John Riley, David Weekly, Harry Cullen, Sr., Craig Biggio, Rufus Cormier, Jim McIngvale, Welcome Wilson, Sr., Stewart Morris, Sr. and many more.

Steering Committee members are:  David Wuthrich, Chairman, Jonathan AyreOliver BadgioDr. Devinder BhatiaTony BradfieldDr. John CangelosiTracy DieterichScott EvansTony GracelyDanny KlaesStephen LewisButch MachSteve MachEd McMahonBilly McCartneyMichael MithoffScott Schwinger and Jesse Tutor.

The upcoming luncheon, chaired by Tracy Dieterich, will be held on Wednesday, May 4th at River Oaks Country Club. The unique and celebrated feature of this luncheon is that the program always runs on time. Steering committee chairman David Wuthrich consistently tells guests that “We’ll be out by 1:00 p.m.!” Also, a Gittings photo wall containing portraits of all the 60 past honorees encircles the room and guests have an opportunity to view those whose efforts have built the city in innumerable ways. 2022 Honorees being celebrated are:  Stanley Appel, M.D., John R. Butler, Jr., Keith Mosing and Jim Postl.

The vendors providing services and supporting this annual luncheon since its inception are:  Gittings, Flowers by Nino, Let It Fly Events and EB, Inc.

For more information on this exciting luncheon, details can be found at Sponsorships, tables and tickets are still available.

Restaurant Poll Img

Stay Connected

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This